The Second Amendment (Amendment II) to the United States Constitution protects the right of the people to keep and bear arms from infringement. Although Connecticut is not currently saying its citizens cannot keep and bear arms, the new law makes it much harder to purchase ammo.
Senate Bill 1160 was passed in the Connecticut General Assembly and signed into law by Democrat Governor Dan Malloy. This new law takes effect October 1, 2013. The law will require those over the age of 18 to have an “ammunition certificate,” in order to purchase ammo.
The law will cost the individual $35 dollars, require a criminal background investigation, and must be renewed every five years. If you have a current valid permit to Carry Pistols or Revolvers, or the newly created “long gun eligibility certificate,” you are exempt from this new “ammunition certificate.”
Connecticut now joins California, New York, New Jersey, and Massachusetts in having the strongest gun control laws.
No doubt, this will hurt ammo sales within Connecticut, but does it cover online or out of state ammo purchase?
In April 4, 2013 the bill took more than 13 hours of debate, while the 139-page bill was crafted by leaders in both parties. Then, House Majority Leader Joe Aresimowicz stated, “I pray today’s bill — the most far-reaching gun safety legislation in the country — will prevent other families from ever experiencing the dreadful loss that the 26 Sandy Hook families have felt,”
Understandably, this is a reactionary law, due to the Sandy Hook Elementary shooting. The reported shooter Adam Lanza, son of tax executive for General Electric Peter Lanza, gunned down 20 students and 6 adults with an AR-15 style Bushmaster semi-automatic rifle.
Yet, how will a 35 dollar required ammo certificate within the state of Connecticut stop this type of tragedy from occurring again? It won’t. Like many of these types of laws, it only infringes upon those who legally own and carry firearms.
In addition to the required ammo certificate, the law includes :
- No firm, person or corporation may sell any long gun to anyone less than 18 years of age.
- Does not allow purchase or selling of any magazines exceeding five rounds. Military, Police, Emergency Services, and Department of Correction are exempted.
- No sale, delivery or transfer of any long gun can be made, other than a federally-licensed manufacturer or dealer.
More requirements from this law will go into effect January 2014. Those new requirements will include additional paperwork on the person attempting to buy or sell a gun.
All the new rules requiring additional paperwork, information data, and transfer notices will need to be stored somewhere. How long before someone calls for a centralized database in order to keep and acquire this information for checks and balances? It makes sense to have as much data in one database to increase efficiency and extract complicated reports more effectively. In essence, legislation is causing the need for a centralized database, in order to identify all gun owners and dealers. This is something lawful gunowners have always feared.
|Please consider a small
donation to help keep website costs covered.
We are trying to avoid putting more advertisement on the pages.
[Did You Know] We accept Freelance Article Submissions by registered users of our site.
If your article is accepted by one of our Editors, we reserve the right to edit as needed to correct grammar, spelling, puncutation, etc. Payment is not offered, but is a good way to expand your name and have your articles shared across our hundreds of social pages and shared by our followers & fans.